Home Search Contact

Pitt County Government

Effective July 1, 2007, Pitt County Mental Health became a member of the 9-County regional Mental Health Local Management Entity (LME) known as East Carolina Behavioral Health. In 2011, the 10 counties formerly managed by Albemarle Mental Health Center merged with East Carolina Behavioral Health.

East Carolina Behavioral Health (ECBH) is a Local Management Entity/Managed Care Organization (LME/MCO) designated by the NC Department of Health & Human Services to oversee the appropriate provision of state and federally-funded services and supports in 19 counties throughout northeastern North Carolina.

The ECBH service area includes Beaufort, Bertie, Camden, Chowan, Craven, Currituck, Dare, Gates, Hertford, Hyde, Jones, Martin, Northampton, Pamlico, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Pitt, Tyrrell, and Washington Counties.

ECBH is responsible for Medicaid and indigent care. People who have private insurance coverage are not eligible for routine services. ECBH responds to all behavioral health crisis calls.

Further information can be obtained by calling the ECBH Access to Care Number at 1.877.685.2415 or by visiting the ECBH website. (The ECBH web site is administered by a third-party. Visiting it will cause you to navigate away from Pitt County Government's site.)

ECBH logo

For additional help: