Mission StatementThe primary mission of the Pitt County Animal Shelter is to provide services which safeguard public health and safety by supporting the education of our citizens on responsible pet ownership; to protect our community’s animals from cruelty and neglect, and to house, care, place or provide humane resolution for animals in its care.
Goals-Reduce euthanasia of healthy animals
-Increase shelter live release rate
-Improve cooperation and relationships with municipalities
The Pitt County Animal Shelter provides a shelter for stray animals and owner surrendered animals which can either be placed up for adoption or euthanized.
North Carolina State law only requires stray animals be held for 72 hours. It is very important if you have lost an animal to immediately report it. Please CLICK HERE for more information.
The Animal Shelter also provides rabies control services such as:
- Annual rabies clinics offering vaccines for $5
- Investigating animal bites in the county
- Loaning of dog/cat traps
- Replacement rabies tags at no charge
Report Animal Neglect or AbuseA positive and interactive relationship between animal services, law enforcement, and the community is critical to protecting the animal population. Without the assistance of residents who discover and report abuse to authorities, most abused animals will likely die or suffer extreme pain in their present conditions. Additionally, those responsible for the abuse may not be sought out. CLICK HERE TO LEARN MORE ABOUT IDENTIFYING AND REPORTING ANIMAL NEGLECT AND ABUSE.
Surrendering a Pet
Animal Services only accepts animals weekdays from 1:00pm to 5:00pm. In order to drop off a pet, you must call the shelter on the weekday morning you plan to bring the pet in to ensure that space is available. If there is no room at the shelter for the pet, you'll need to call again the following day to schedule a different drop off time.
After you've called and scheduled a drop off time, you will then bring the pet to the shelter along with your Government ID proving that you are a Pitt County resident. If you are owner surrendering your pet, there will be a $20 surrender fee that must be paid at the time of drop off. Owners will also need to provide proof of ownership: i.e. vet records, rabies certificates, and such.
If you have any questions, please call the Animal Shelter at 252-902-1725
Click here for more info on surrendering a pet
Animal Control Advisory Board
The Animal Control Advisory Board meets on the 4th Wednesday of every other month at 5:30 p.m. in the Commissioners' Auditorium, beginning in January. Please check our calendar to view the Meeting Dates. Depending on Holidays, meetings can be re-scheduled. So please call the Animal Shelter with any questions.
Donate to the Animal Shelter
On Monday, October 22, 2018, Pitt County Animal Services (PCAS) received statewide recognition from the North Carolina Animal Control & Rabies Association (NCARCA), when two of their staff received gold medals for their performance during ... Read on...
The Community Partnership for Pets, Inc. (CPPI) is an organization based in Henderson County, NC with a commitment to reducing the suffering and euthanasia of animals in shelters. CPPI is working with Pitt County Animal Shelter to help fund their new ... Read on...