Board of Commissioners

  1. TC

    Tom Coulson

    District B (Districts 3 and 6 Combined)

  1. AFH

    Ann Floyd Huggins

    District 1

  1. BH

    Benji Holloman

    District 4

  1. MMC

    Melvin C. McLawhorn

    District A (Districts 1 and 2)

  1. CN

    Christopher Nunnally

    Vice-Chair, District 3

  1. MPW

    Mary Perkins-Williams

    District 2

  1. Smith

    Mark C. Smith

    Chairman,District 5

  1. BW

    Beth B. Ward

    District C (Districts 4 and 5 Combined)

  1. LW

    Lauren White

    District 6


  • 1st Monday of each month at 6:00pm.
  • 3rd Monday of each month at 6:00pm.
  • Pitt County Office Building
    1717 W 5th Street
    Commissioners' Auditorium
    Greenville, NC 27834

View the 2023 Meeting Schedule (PDF).

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View the current Agenda Information Packet.

View previous Agendas and Minutes.


The Pitt County Board of Commissioners is the governing body for Pitt County Government.


The Board consists of nine elected officials, six of whom are elected as representatives from one of the County's single election districts and three of whom are elected to represent a combined district, a district which encompasses two of the County's single election districts. This system ensures that each Pitt County resident is represented by two Commissioners, one from a single district and one from the combined district in which the citizen lives.

Scope of Work

The Board of Commissioners establishes local ordinances, policies, and procedures, determines the immediate and long-term goals and objectives for the County, and hires a full-time manager to oversee the daily operations of the government. Pitt County has operated under the County Manager form of government since 1970. The County Manager hires the County staff, meets regularly with department and agency heads, and ensures the Board's goals and objectives are met. The County Manager serves at the discretion of the Board. D. Scott Elliott has held the appointed position of County Manager since April 1, 2002.

View the Commissioners' District Map (PDF).

Clerk to the Board

The Clerk to the Board of County Commissioners is the primary administrative assistant to the Board. The Clerk prepares and promulgates meeting agendas, maintains the County's official files, and coordinates the Commissioners' schedules. The Clerk also serves at the discretion of the Board.

Board Members 

To view the Board of Commissioners, along with their district and contact information, CLICK HERE.