Partial or full payments are accepted throughout the year. Pitt County Tax Administration encourages any and all payments before, during or after real estate closings.
Paying Taxes With a Credit or Debit Cardis available through Official Payments Corporation (OPC) by phone or over the internet. OPC accepts payments with MasterCard®, VISA®, American Express® or Discover®. Pay online, using the Public Tax Access Website. To pay by phone, you will need to have a copy of your bill, then dial OPC toll free at800-272-9829. The jurisdiction code to use is 4316. Please note that OPC charges you a convenience fee to process a phone or internet payment. Pitt County neither sets nor receives any portion of this fee.
Paying Taxes by E-Checkis also available through the Pitt County website without any additional fee charged to make a payment. In order to use this service, taxpayers will need to have the parcel number or bill number available for the system to bring in the amount of taxes due and apply the payment properly. Pay Taxes by E-Check can be found under the county website under Online Programs as well.
Tax Collections Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)
Payment Plans Are Available
If you would like to set up a payment plan, please contact the office of the Tax Collector without delay at252-902-3425.
Mortgage Escrow Accounts
The property owner is responsible for full payment of property taxes. If your mortgage includes an escrow account for payment of property taxes, you are responsible to notify your mortgage lender of the tax amount due and to verify with the Pitt County Tax Collector that payment has been received. Tax notices are mailed only to property owners.
The Pitt County Board of Commissioners sets County, fire and EMS district taxes annually when the budget is adopted. Municipal tax rates are set by the respective elected town officials. View the 2017 Tax Rates (PDF).
I Sold the Property, Why Am I Getting a Tax Notice?
The January 1st owner is considered the listing taxpayer and is responsible for current year property until the past due date, regardless of any arrangements made between a buyer and seller at closing of the property sale. NC.G.S. 105-369(b)(1) directs that the tax lien advertisement for unpaid 2015 real property taxes be published in the name of the property owner as of the delinquent date. The January 6, 2016, owner will be subject to past due collection procedures. If you are a property seller who receives a 2015 tax notice, please forward it to the buyer or return the notice to Pitt County Tax Administration.
Pitt County begins enforcement measures immediately after the past due date.
Delinquent taxes will be collected through all remedies available by NC. General Statutes to include (but not limited to):
- Bank Account Attachment
- Foreclosure on Real Property
- Levy on Personal Property
- NC Debt Setoff Program
- Rent Levy
- Wage Garnishment
Debt Setoff Program
Subject to the laws of North Carolina, any unpaid past due taxes are subject to enforcement procedures. If your property taxes become past due, it is our intention to secure payment by filing a claim with the State of North Carolina to obtain your income tax refund or lottery winnings. A collection assistance fee of $15 shall be added to the account if we submit the account for collection. The Debt Setoff Clearinghouse retains a $5 fee for each debt matched.
A tax receipt can be mailed upon your written request along with a self-addressed stamped envelope and payment of five cents per page. For income tax purposes, please retain the upper portion of your tax notice along with your cancelled check. In lieu of a paid receipt, you can print a statement showing taxes paid from the Public Tax Access Website.
Miscellaneous Revenue Topics
- Gross receipts taxes on short-term vehicle rentals and leases are due by the 15th of each month for the previous month's collections. Gross receipts taxes on short-term rentals and leases of heavy equipment are due quarterly by the 15th of the month following the quarter.
- Beer and/or wine licenses are issued and due May 1st.
- Motel/Hotel occupancy taxes are due by the 15th of each month for the previous month collections.