District Staff & Board of Supervisors

Farmville conservation sign

District Staff

Technical assistance is available free to landowners in local Soil and Water Conservation Districts throughout North Carolina. Our technicians are knowledgeable, trained and ready to assist clients with a variety of issues including drainage concerns, erosion plans, conservation practices, nutrient management, and much more. 

  • PJ Andrews, Director 
  • Jamie Vincent, Nutrient Management Technician
  • Hannah Smith, Cost-Share Technician/Educator

Board of Supervisors

The District is governed by a five-member board of supervisors. Three supervisors are elected on the general ballot as non-partisan candidates during the regular election of county officers, and two are appointed by the NC Soil and Water Conservation Commission upon recommendation of the local district board of supervisors.  

The board of supervisors meet monthly to establish local soil and water conservation priorities based on the needs of the district. The work is accomplished by partnering with local, state and federal agencies; businesses; and non-profit organizations for technical and financial assistance. The board is also responsible for reviewing and approving district contracts for ACSP, AgWRAP and CCAP. The Division of Soil and Water Conservation administers ACSP, AgWRAP and CCAP, and holds each local board of supervisors accountable to these state program

  • Steve Sutton, Chairman 
  • Brooks Bunn, Vice-Chairman 
  • Dr. David Collier, Secretary/Treasurer 
  • Carl Briley, Jr., Member 
  • Leroy Smith, Member