Childhood Immunization Clinics Offered
Clinics will help middle and high school students meet NC immunization requirements
PITT COUNTY, N.C. – Pitt County Health Department (PCHD), in partnership with Pitt County Schools and ECU Health Medical Center School Nurse Program, will hold immunization clinics for middle and high school students on September 28 and September 29, 2023. These clinics will be held by appointment only at the Health Department, located at 201 Government Circle, Greenville, N.C. Appointments are required to allow staff to assess which immunizations each child needs prior to their arrival.
To make an appointment for the Immunization Clinics (middle/high school students only), call 252-902-2449. Note: Kindergarten immunizations will not be offered at these clinics. Appointments for kindergarten immunizations are available at other times and are offered inside the health department clinic.
North Carolina law requires all NC children to receive certain immunizations. North Carolina G.S. 130A-155(a) requires proof of required immunizations within 30 days of the first date of attendance of school. These immunization requirements apply to all children in North Carolina, regardless of the type of school setting. Whether home-schooled, attending school in-person or remote learning, all N.C. children are required by the state to be immunized based on their age for certain vaccinations as recommended the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).
Parents or guardians are responsible for ensuring that their children are properly protected against vaccine-preventable disease to prevent expulsion from school (including in-person and remote learning).
There is no cost for children who are eligible for the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) Vaccines For Children (VFC) Program. Eligibility requirements include being younger than 19 years of age and meeting one of the following: Medicaid-eligible, Uninsured, Underinsured, or American Indian or Alaska Native. Medicaid, BCBS and MedCost insurances will also be accepted. Upfront payment for Menquadfi and Tdap will be required if the child is also covered by other insurance carriers.
Immunization requirements for kindergarten entry, 7th grade and 12th grade students can be found at: https://immunize.nc.gov/schools/k-12.htm. A booster dose of Meningococcal Conjugate Vaccine (MenACWY) to protect against meningococcal disease is also required for students entering the 12th grade or by 17 years of age, whichever comes first.
Dawn C. Jones
Director, Public Information & Media Relations Past Releases:
email@example.com | (252) 902-2955 www.PittCountyNC.gov/PIO